Contents --- Bibliography --- Links

Books by Rupert Croft-Cooke

(The following lists are incomplete. I'd be grateful for any information concerning publishers and publication dates, as well as any books I might have missed. EB.)

Short Story Collections
Autobiographical Books (in The Sensual World series)
Sergeant Beef Detective Novels
Carolus Deene Detective Novels
Beef/Grebe Short Story Collection
As Editor


Troubadour (Chapman & Hall, 1930)
Give him the Earth (Chapman & Hall, 1930)
Night Out (1932)
Cosmopolis (Hutchinson, 1932)
Release the Lions (1933)
Picaro (1934)
Shoulder the Sky (1934)
Blind Gunner (1935)
Crusade (1936)
Kingdom Come (1937)
Rule Britannia (1938)
Same Way Home (Jarrolds, 1939)

Glorious (1940)
Octopus (Jarrolds, 1946)
Ladies Gay (MacDonald, 1946)
Wilkie (MacDonald, 1948)
Brass Farthing (Werner Laurie, 1950)
Three Names for Nicholas (Macmillan, 1951)
Nine Days with Edward (Macmillan, 1952)
Harvest Moon (Macmillan, 1953)
Fall of Man (Macmillan, 1955)
Seven Thunders (Macmillan, 1956)
Barbary Night (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1958)
Thief (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1961)
Clash By Night (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1962)
Paper Albatross (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1965)
Three in a Cell (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1968)
Wolf From the Door (W.H. Allen, 1969)
Exiles (W.H. Allen, 1970)
While the Iron's Hot (W.H. Allen, 1971)
Under the Rose Garden (W.H. Allen, 1971)
Nasty Piece of Work (Methuen, 1973)
Conduct Unbecoming (W.H. Allen, 1975)

Back to Top  

Short story collections:

A Pharaoh with his Waggons (1938?)
A Football for the Brigadier (Werner Laurie, 1950)
A Few Gypsies (Putnam, 1955) - a collection of articles about gypsies, with short stories.

Back to Top  

Autobiographical Books (in The Sensual World series):

The Gardens of Camelot (Putnam, 1959)
The Altar in the Loft (Putnam, 1960)
The Drums of Morning (Putnam, 1961)
The Glittering Pastures (Putnam, 1962)
The Numbers Came (Putnam, 1963)
The Last of Spring (Putnam, 1964)
The Purple Streak (W.H. Allen, 1966)
The Wild Hills (W.H. Allen, 1966)
The Happy Highways (W.H. Allen, 1967)
The Sound of Revelry (W.H. Allen, 1969)
The Moon in My Pocket (Sampson & Low, 1948)
The Licentious Soldiery (W.H. Allen, 1971)
The Blood-Red Island (Staples Press, 1953)
The Gorgeous East (W.H. Allen, 1965)
The Dogs of Peace (W.H. Allen, 1973)
The Life for Me (Macmillan, 1952)
The Verdict of You All (Secker & Warburg, 1955)
The Tangerine House (Macmillan, 1956)
The Quest for Quixote (Secker & Warburg, 1959)
The Wintry Sea (W.H. Allen, 1964)
The Ghost of June (W.H. Allen, 1968)
The Caves of Hercules (W.H. Allen, 1974)
The Long Way Home (W.H. Allen, 1974)
The Green, Green Grass (W.H. Allen, 1977)


The World is Young (Hodder & Stoughton, 1937)
The Man in Europe Street (Rich & Cowan, 1938)
The Circus Has No Home (Falcon Press, 1941)

Back to Top  

Sergeant Beef Detective Novels:

Case for Three Detectives (1936)
Case without a Corpse (1937)
Case with No Conclusion (1939)
Case with Four Clowns (1939)
Case with Ropes and Rings (1940)
Case for Sergeant Beef (1947)
Neck and Neck (Gollancz, 1951)
Cold Blood (1952)

Back to Top  

Carolus Deene Detective Novels :

At Death's Door (1955)
Death of Cold (1956)
Dead for a Ducat (Peter Davies, 1956)
Dead Man's Shoes (1958)
A Louse for the Hangman (1958)
Our Jubilee Is Death (1959)
Jack on the Gallows Tree (Peter Davies, 1960)
Furious Old Women (1960)
A Bone and a Hank of Hair (Peter Davies, 1961)
Die All, Die Merrily (Peter Davies, 1961)
Nothing Like Blood (Peter Davies, 1962)
Crack of Doom (1963)
Death in Albert Park (W.H. Allen, 1964)
Death at Hallows End (1965)
Death on the Black Sands (1966)
Death at St. Asprey's School (W.H. Allen, 1967)
Death of a Commuter (1967)
Death on Romney Marsh (W.H. Allen, 1968)
Death with Blue Ribbon (W.H. Allen, 1969)
Death on Allhallowe'en (W.H. Allen, 1970)
Death by the Lake (1971)
Death in the Middle Watch (1974)
Death of a Bovver Boy (1974)

Back to Top  

Beef/Grebe Short Story Collection:

Murder in Miniature (Academy, 1992)
(Including 10 Beef stories, 8 Sergeant Grebe stories, and a further 10 stories)

Back to Top  


God in Ruins (Fortune Press, 1936)
Darts (Geoffrey Bless, 1938)
How to Get More Out of Life (Geoffrey Bless, 1938)
Rudyard Kipling (Home & Van Thal, 1948)
How to Enjoy Travel Abroad (Rockliffe, 1948)
Cities, with Noel Barber (Allan Wingate, 1952)
Buffalo Bill, with W.S. Meadmore (1952)
Sherry (Putnam, 1955)
Port (Putnam, 1957)
Smiling Damned Villain (Secker & Warburg, 1959)
English Cooking, a New Approach (W.H. Allen, 1960)
Madeira (Putnam, 1961)
Cooking for Pleasure (Collins, 1962)
Bosie: The Story of Lord Alfred Douglas (W. H. Allen, 1963)
Tales of a Wicked Uncle (Cape, 1963)
St. George for England (Dulwich Press, 1966 - limited edition of 500 copies)
Wine and Other Drinks (Collins, 1966)
Feasting With Panthers: A New Consideration of Some Late Victorian Writers (W.H. Allen, 1967)
Exotic Food (Allen & Unwin, 1969.)
The Unrecorded Life of Oscar Wilde, (W. H. Allen, 1972)
Circus: A World History, with Peter Cotes (Elek, 1976)
The Sawdust Ring, with W.S. Meadmore (?)

Back to Top  


Twenty Poems from the Spanish of Becquer (Oxford, 1927)
Some Poems (the Galleon Press, 1929)

Back to Top  


Banquo's Chair (1930) (Filmed in 1945 as The Fatal Witness)
Tap Three Times (1931)
Deliberate Accident (1934)

Back to Top  

As Editor:

Major Road Ahead (Methuen, 1939)
The Circus Book (Sampson & Low, 1947)

Back to Top